Democratic Governance in a Turbulent Age

Basic Information

NORFACE announces a new transnational research programme on democratic governance. The main focus of this research programme will be on understanding the precise nature of the recent turbulence in democratic politics and governance in Europe, how European states can negotiate it and how they can develop strategies to enhance the quality of democratic politics and governance.

Network Governance
Aim of the joint call NORFACE network will launch a transnational research programme on the topic of democratic governance. The programme is structured around five of the most important challenges to democratic governance and politics, described in detail in the Programme Text accompanying the Call for Proposals: 1. Inequality and redistribution; 2. The evolving politics of threat; 3. The democratisation of information; 4. Shifting identities and representation; 5. The changing authority of institutions.
Type of joint call Two Stages - Call with pre-proposals and full proposals submissions
Launch date 03/12/2018
Deadline Pre-Proposal 19/02/2019 Submitted proposal: n/a
Deadline Full-Proposal 10/09/2019 Submitted proposal: n/a
Evaluation End Date 03/03/2020 Successful proposal: n/a Proposals funded: n/a
Is call co-funded? Yes
Call follow up funding n/a
Call reasons n/a
Research fields
  • Government and social relations
  • Socio-economics sciences and humanities
Type of research n/a
Target groups n/a
Participating networks

Organisations Participating

Country Organisation
Austria Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
Belgium Belgian Federal Science Policy Office (BELSPO)
Belgium National Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS)
Belgium Research Foundation Flanders (FWO)
Czech Republic Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (ASCR)
Denmark Independent Research Fund Denmark (IRFD)
Estonia Estonian Science Foundation (ETAG)
Finland Academy of Finland (AKA)
France National Research Agency (ANR)
Germany German Research Foundation (DFG)
Ireland Irish Research Council (IRC)
Lithuania Research Council of Lithuania (LSC/LMT/RCL)
Luxembourg National Fund for Research (FNR)
Netherlands Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
Norway Research Council of Norway (RCN)
Poland National Science Centre (NCN)
Slovenia Slovenian Research Agency (ARRS/SRA)
Spain Spanish State Research Agency (AEI)
Sweden Swedish Research Council (VR/SRC)
Switzerland Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF/SNF)
United Kingdom Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)