Types of Partnerships

The Horizon Europe distinguishes between 3 types of European Partnerships:

  • co-funded partnerships involving public authorities
  • co-programmed partnerships between the Commission and private and/or public partners
  • institutionalised partnerships (based on Article 187 or Article 185 TFEU)

In their implementation and certain features, the 3 types of European Partnerships differ. The co-programmed are the most simple to prepare and implement, and the institutionalised the most complex.

European Partnerships are based on actions in Horizon 2020:

  • The co-funded partnerships are successors of European Joint Programme (EJP) Cofund and ERA-NET Cofund under Horizon 2020.
  • Co-programmed follow the Contractual Public-Private-Partnerships under Horizon 2020.
  • Institutionalised European Partnerships are based on Art. 187 and Art. 185 of the TFEU but are no longer called Art. 185/187 initiatives or Joint Undertakings. EIT Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs) will also be Institutionalised partnerships in Horizon Europe.

The graph below shows the transition of partnerships from Horizon 2020 to Horizon Europe.

Horizon Europe Typs of Partnership